:fa_eye: The Official Lurkers' Thread™

• Discourse touched me in a no-no place

@moderator said:

I am amused by the number of TDWTF forum lurkers/infrequent posters who have come after Discourse with guns blazing. If nothing else, it's bringing us together as a community.

A few people have mentioned the increase in lurker activity since the move to Discourse. I've certainly been posting more. So this thread is calling all lurkers.

We're all familiar with the usual suspects on this site like Blakey, Morbs, El Heffe, Boomzilla, PJH, mikeTheLiar, dhromed, bstorer Pesto moderator, and others.

Now let's get a bit more familiar with the lurkers.

I'm Doctor Jones, I've been a member lurking since 2010. I'm from Nottingham in the UK (Robin Hood country), I'm a Software dev, primarily working with C#, ASP MVC and Webforms.

• I lurk between posts.

Hi.

• Good idea for a thread. I'm Dan, my wholly unoriginal screen name can be traced back to my real-world identity with ease, as perilous as that might be. I'm from the Gold Coast, Australia, but at the moment I'm in Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam. I'm doing the whole remote worker/digital nomad thing and I mainly work with JavaScript (node, angularjs) and PHP with the odd bit of C#. All cloud (there's a buzzword to rival "digital nomad") stuff.

• I'm a Southern New Jersey, USA transplant to the horrible enclave of Washington, DC, USA. If you've ever played Fallout 3, it's pretty much just like that here. Currently mostly a C# / ASP.NET MVC programmer, but it's hard to stay with just one language when you're the company's only software guy so you get to do fun things like support WordPress, modify DAQ hardware code, perform acts on Excel that would probably be illegal if they were done to a human being, and write scripts to automate tasks for IT.

I've gotten sick of it so I've started my own software company.