Saving newline just in case your keyboard loose them...

• I am no programmer, but work in a closely related field. Part of my job is handling statistical data analysis - which involves a lot of poorly documented scripting in esoteric languages.

Everytime I read a script from my predecessor I am asking myself "why did she love newlines so much?!". Basically every line of code is seperated by 5 newlines or so.

Reading the code is a total pain - you cannot see the beginning and end of an statement at once. Logically related lines of code are seperated by huge walls of no text, whereas meaningful breaks are absent.

Now I am going through a 10.000 LOC file with 30% newlines without purpose. Cleaning and organizing it is a pain, but afterwards I can actually see what I am doing.

Some code to show the problem:
    text Q11Multi = "Table 11: Statiscial Analysis

Some text
    ";

tabselect text "Base: Use only a subset of the data;

#t1 table = #Header1 by Variable99 sort position slice 19;
    #t1 table = #Header2 by Variable99 sort position slice 19;
    {#t1 table = #Header3 by Variable99 sort position slice 19;
    #t1 table = #Header4 by Variable99 sort position slice 19;
    #t1 table = #Header5 by Variable99 sort position slice 19;
    #t1 table = #Header6 by Variable99 sort position slice 19;
    #t1 table = #Header7 by Variable99 sort position slice 19;
    #t1 table = #Header8 by Variable99 sort position slice 19;}

#ifdef ascout
    spsslongnames = yes;

asciiout ID1 = 1 13;
    setdecimals systemweight = 4;
    asciiout systemweight = 15 10;

spss asciiout = "gew.sps";
    asciioutfile = "gew.dat";
    #end

end;

•  Somehow I think when she "learned" to use a compute, she pressed the Insert key. Adding text in the middle of the document is a pain in replace mode, ya'know? Must be sure to add blank space to have room for later.

And suddendly the numbering of BASIC lines comes to mind...

• That is a rather good explanation....