Secure API - Best place to put the username/password?

• Trolleybus Mechanic

I'm going to have to secure a public API. Since I've never done it before, I would very much like to avoid having the solution appear on the front page. So what's the best way to do so?

The connection will be SSL. That's a given.

The two methods on the table at the moment are:

1) The API call takes three params: UserName, Password, and XMLData.  The XMLData will also contain a GUID/token of some sorts.

2) The API only takes one param: XMLData. The XMLData will contain two additional fields, <username /> and <password />

#2 is the one the other team is pitching, but something feels off about it to me. I can't quite place my finger on it. I think it's because it requires parsing "unauthenticated" data-- and also because the incoming XML will have to be modified to strip out username and password before the raw XML gets saved anywhere (logs, database for auditing purposes, etc).

Any advice from the WTF community at large?

• ♿ (Parody)

@Lorne Kates said:

#2 is the one the other team is pitching, but something feels off about it to me.

It feels off because it is off. Actually, it's more than off, it's just stupid.

This is yet another case of developers not understanding how SSL works. Which is not surprising, because it's the simplest fucking thing to understand: Secure Socket Layer. This means the entire Socket Layer is Secure.

• IP
    • TCP
    • SSL
    • HTTP
    • SOAP
    • API

Since the layer below HTTP is secured, that means HTTP and everything on top of it is also secured. There's no need to "encrypt" querystrings. Or POST data. Or anything else. It's already encrypted.

• Discourse touched me in a no-no place

Is this like a web-service used by 3rd party programs that would be amenable to using HMAC? Or is it simply an interface users simply log into?