Teaching kids to code

• @dcon said in Teaching kids to code:

@lolwhat said in Teaching kids to code:

@Onyx said in Teaching kids to code:

I wouldn't give a 6-yo kid C

How could that possibly be any worse than requiringteaching an averagejava programmer to use C? 🚂

There's something to give you some nightmares...

Oh, definitely. I started out as a C programmer, but I now write Java for a living.

• @Applied-Mediocrity said in Teaching kids to code:

Encourage curiosity in all of STEM subjects, do not focus on this coding thing. Better mathematicians should then try programming, that is, apply their rigorous logic and discipline to a different class of problems.

At my first parent-teacher conference I was surprised they are already teaching multiplication concepts.

If each bag has 5 donuts and you have 3 bags, how many donuts are there?

They have to draw out their work but I'm pretty sure I didn't know that kindergarten.

• Banned

@djls45 said in Teaching kids to code:

@dcon said in Teaching kids to code:

@lolwhat said in Teaching kids to code:

I wouldn't give a 6-yo kid C

How could that possibly be any worse than requiringteaching an averagejava programmer to use C? 🚂

There's something to give you some nightmares...

Oh, definitely. I started out as a C programmer, but I now write Java for a living.

My story is like a modern adaptation of yours - I started with C++, but now I'm doing Scala.

• Discourse touched me in a no-no place

@Karla said in Teaching kids to code:

Enough that there'll be some left for me tomorrow too?

• @GÄ…ska said in Teaching kids to code:

Because unlike cooking or playing piano, you can't do anything useful at all with basic programming knowledge alone -

Except excel macros, simple shell scripts, milling machines and a whole host of things where basic programming knowledge makes you a cut above you cow-orkers.

• Banned